top of page

Instruction from Jarg Geismar (DE/S)

„Dear Max, here my contribution to your collaboration project: Please hide this postcard in a place in Gibraltar and leave it there. Show only a copy of it in your show. This hidden place can be in a private room, post office, bakery, grocery shop or police station. Tell nobody where you hide it. You can show details of the hidden location but do not uncover where it is. Enjoy!“ This is what German-Swedish artist Jarg Geismar wrote from Stockholm. I am very thankful about his instruction, because it asks to define what is public, private, an exhibition or part of an exhibition. Jarg's postcard instruction, and my action, these words here, and the copy of the postcard that will be exhibited, as well as the blurry detail pic of where I left it, resemble all of these questions. I waited a week to figure out where it could be best to hide this postcard. And I did it today. It took me maybe two seconds to quickly hide the postcard in a very public place, frequented by a high number of visitors per day. More I will not tell. The only thing I want to reveal: The postcard is very close to Her Majesty now. Would she be amused?

Update:

bottom of page