top of page

THE GIBRALTAR POSTCARD INSTRUCTIONS PROJECT. SEPT 16 - OCT 6, 2016

--------------------------------------------------------------------------- FROM SEPTEMBER 16 UNTIL OCTOBER 7 I WILL STAY IN GIBRALTAR IN THE FRAMEWORK OF THE

"BERLIN-GIBRALTAR ARTIST EXCHANGE" RESIDENCY. I SENT OUT 21 INVITIATIONS TO SELECTED ARTISTS FROM AROUND THE WORLD TO PARTICIPATE AND COLLABORATE ON THIS MAIL ART PROJECT IN GIBRALTAR. ALMOST EVERYONE REPLIED AND ALREADY SENT OR WILL SEND A POSTCARD WITH AN INSTRUCTION

TO A C/O ADDRESS IN GIBRALTAR. THE CONTENT IS YET UNKNOWN TO ME, I WILL ONLY READ THEM

WHEN ARRIVING THERE. DURING MY STAY I WILL EXECUTE, IN MY OWN INTERPRETATION, THE INSTRUCTIONS GIVEN TO ME

BY THE ARTISTS. THE RESULTS WILL BE EXHIBITED IN AN EXHIBITION I WILL HAVE TOGETHER WITH

THE ARTIST ALAN PEREZ IN THE GUSTAVIO BACARISAS GALLERY IN GIBRALTAR, OPENING ON OCTOBER 6.

FROM THE BEGINNING OF MY STAY I WILL TRY TO DOCUMENT THE RESULTS HERE. MAX SUDHUES, BERLIN --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

INVITE LETTER TO THE ARTISTS:

Berlin, July 16th 2016 Dear Artist I want to kindly ask you for a collaboration for a project I am planning in Gibraltar in the fall of this year. It would be the greatest honour for me if you would participate. In Gibraltar I will stay in an artist residency from September 16th until October 8th. My aim is to work site specifically and in close contact with the locals. The result will be shown in an exhibition in the Gustavo Bacarisas Gallery, Gibraltar. Besides of exploring the place and making „my“ work, I also wish to realize a project with in total 21 artists from all over the world. I kindly ask you to to send a postcard from your home city to me in Gibraltar, by regular postal service.This postcard should contain your name and a small instruction for me, which I will (try to) execute on site during my stay in Gibraltar. This instruction could be performative, poetic, political, requiring (artistic) action from my side, abstract, narrative, physical or non-physical, nothing of this or everything at once. With the term „instruction“ I refer to Yoko Ono’s book „Grapefruit“, the whole project refers to the long and beautiful tradition of artist’s postcards and artistic inspiration and exchange. I will try to execute one instruction each day, documenting the result on photo and video. The instructional postcards and the works that they finally led to will be shown in the final exhibition. I see your postcard instruction as a work of art, and the result as our artistic collaboration. If you are willing to take part in this project I would love to ask you to send your postcard with the instruction and your name latest until the middle of August. The postcards will be collected for me, I will not know about their content until my arrival in Gibraltar. As a thank-you for this trustful collaboration I offer you to later send you a signed and dated photo of what happened with your instruction performed by me in Gibraltar. Please let me know by e-mail if you are willing and interested to take part. Thanks for your trust and best wishes, Max Sudhues

bottom of page